Saw a film today. The protagonist was asked to name the five most important people in her life. And she named four of them with a second thought.

And I started thinking who were the five most important people in my life. Surprisingly, I couldn’t. Forget five, I couldn’t name one.

I am twenty years old with no major problems or incidents in my tenure of life. I have had everything-family, house, food,money,clothes, birthday parties, vacations, and the list continues.

Yes, I have a very bad track record with friends. my closest friends betrayed me at the age of ten. After that, I stopped opening up to people. People think that they know me very well but what they don’t realize that , that they know only what I want them to know. They see the ‘Soumi’ I want them to see.

So today when I asked myself the top five closest people in my life I had no answer. Cause no one knows me. Is this me? Or others face this as well?

 

8 comments

  1. kavsgonecreative · November 28

    our brains generalise everything and everyone. It does not have the capacity to treat everything new and unique. Thus, generalisation satisfies our curiosity to completely know anyone or anything. For example, if you see a mother and a child on the street. You will automatically associate the mother to be a warm protective person (this depends on what your view of a mother is). So since you generalise you don’t try to get to know the actual person with the child.

    It’s the same with you Soumi, others can only know you if you decide to how who you really are. Otherwise they will generalise you with all the other people with the same character, outlook and attitude.

    Personally I find comfort in knowing people who are important to me don’t comepetely know me. So I can never be completely hurt, just partially. The one who can truly hurt you is you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Unraveling mystery · November 29

      Your words reminded me of something i read sometime ago,” we try to solve the problems of tomorrow using the codes from yesterday”. Yes we see the world only the way we are ourselves and maybe that’s why it’s so easy to overlook. Thank you for sharing your views. Much appreciated.
      -S

      Liked by 1 person

  2. willytyme · November 26

    Your gravitar says it all lovely….”Doctor Who”. Who are we, do we really know anyone as well as they think they know us. I know an important person who knows me….me. Before we can know someone, we gotta know ourselves.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jokerswild · November 26

    This is a lot of people, you are in the head of everyone on Earth. That’s a hard question for me to answer because those who are important to me don’t really know the real me, so I don’t know if they are important to the me I see, or the me that they see. I guess it all boils down to who Soumi sees as important. this was a nice read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

